App of the Week: Last Pass

By Shannon VanHorn, Director of Distance Learning and Faculty Development

I have a problem: I can’t remember passwords.  I need a password to open my computer, access my e-mail, log into Blackboard or ConnectND, and log into my bank, Facebook, iTunes, my medical charts, Amazon, and the list goes on and on.

I have three or so that I usually use (I know, I know—the wrong thing to do), but sometimes they don’t work and I have to try to remember another combination of letters and numbers.  Let’s see, I used my address last time, and the time before that I used my grandmother’s maiden name, etc. By the time I’m done, I’ve ended up changing my password. Again.

Last Pass is a password manager.  What does that mean? Well, it remembers your passwords. It stores all of your passwords either synced with all your devices online or just on one device. It even changes a password for you if it thinks your password has been compromised. It manages your passwords so you do not use the same password on every site (a no-no) and you don’t have to keep a log of your passwords.

And the best part?  It’s FREE! (although you can get even more options for just $1 a month).

You can access it through a browser for your computer via http://www.lastpass.com. For your mobile device, it’s compatible  with OS, Android, iOS, and Windows Phone.

So forget about worrying which password will work for which account you have. Let Last Pass do the job for you!

Leave a Reply

